The “right” Real Esate Investing system

February 11, 2009


The “right” Real Estate Investing System
by James Miller

.

.

One of the confusing parts of getting started in Real Estate investing is that there are so many different ways to do it and so many guru’s out there touting why their way is the best.

I am going to let you in on something it took me a while to discover.

It all works.

Yep. Just about everything you see out there every one of the late night infomercials, every guru you have ever hear talk at a seminar and fought the urge to run to the back of the room to buy their CD’s or Boot camp. All of their stuff works.

But it doesn’t work for you.

Here is the difference:

It doesn’t work because you are doing something wrong.

I run under the assumption that there is a way to make just about every money making opportunity I  have ever seen work, but the limiting factor is me.

As an example, I had a hard time getting used to the idea of putting up “I buy houses” signs and ads all over the place. It just seemed too cheesy to me.  One of my partners was fully on board with this phrase.  She took the time and money  to have vinyl letters made with this phrase and her phone number on it and placed them on her car.

I could barely ride around with her in that car I was so embarrassed by it.  I was wondering what people must think.

She had spent $60 on those letters and gets an average of three calls a week from someone wanting to sell their house.  There are also people who come up to her at gas stations asking about it.  She has even been pulled over by a police officer who wanted to sell his house.

Because I wasn’t comfortable with the idea of that cheesy phrase,  “I Buy Houses” didn’t work for me.

Guess what most of my house buying advertising says now?

Too often we get in the way of our own progress by wanting to change a proven system, or not following through with what we are supposed to do because we don’t feel comfortable with it.  Often we want to save some money by changing things.

If we try something and then later give up. It is very easy to blame the system or the person who taught us, but the true nature of why we aren’t successful is that we have done something wrong.

We are the ones to blame, yet we never do see ourselves as the culprit.

If you look at Real Estate, there are thousands of people who are successfully short selling, successfully flipping, successfully assigning contracts, lease optioning and buying using land contracts.  People have been using creative techniques to make money in this business for decades.  So there is a way to do it.

There is a path to follow to get the goal you want.

But you will never get there is your focus is on finding the “right” program.

They all work. You just need to make sure you take the one you have and do it the right way.