What a Real Estate Agent needs to do to sell to me.


What a Real Estate Agent needs to do to sell to me.

by James Miller

The best thing I think a Real Estate agent can do is to be in constant contact with their Buy/sell list of clients.

As a Real Estate Investor, a lot of Realtors put me on the auto-mailer that emails me when they have what their program thinks fits my buying criteria. It is usually way off, as they are often just sending me things like “commercial properties over $500,000”. Or any residential income properties in a certain zip code.

Besides being off target with what I am looking for, these e-mails get to be overwhelming, and I tend not to keep up with them.

What is effective is what only Ed, one of the dozen or so Real Estate agents that I have worked with, does.

He calls me on the phone.

It is short and sweet and usually goes something like this:

“I’m not sure if you’ll be interested in this, but I see [some property] has come on the MLS.”

We don’t spend a lot of time on the phone, but he does let me know in a very personal way, that he is still looking for properties for me and what’s out there.  He also always asks me what I have “going on”, or “what’s new”.

I am not even sure If he knows how effective this is for him. Every time he calls (and he has the sense not to overdo it) he forces me to remember that he is a Realtor.

He puts himself in a position to hear about what I have going on and what I am interested in doing at that moment.   If I have a property that I am thinking about selling, I am sure going to tell him. If I have a need for a tenant, he will know right then. If I know of someone who might be interested in buying or selling He will find out about it when were talking.

There is also the possibility that I may like the sound of the property that Ed is calling about.

By taking the time to call me, Ed has positioned himself on the top of a very long list of Realtors I know.

Want to hear a little secret about Ed?

He’s not the best Real Estate Agent that I know.

Don’t get me wrong, he’s a very good Realtor, but he‘s not the best one I know. He doesn’t have a big list of letters after his title  like a lot of Realtors and Brokers. There are questions I ask him that He doesn’t immediately know the answer to. He is consistently at the top of the list for sales, but he is not yet #1.  But none of that matters because he has done the one thing that no other Real Estate Agent does.

He has taken the time to learn about me, and what I am doing, by picking up the phone.

6 Responses to What a Real Estate Agent needs to do to sell to me.

  1. Chris Moran says:

    Nice writing style. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

    • wildpen says:

      Thanks Chris.

      I checked out your site.

      I fully agree with your statement that this is the time for companies to increase their marketing efforts.

      The biggest marketing mistake that I see *some* companies making is that they don’t make the effort to test market and measure the results of their advertising. I have seen one company spend $5000 on a one time one page ad with the intent of “making a big splash”. When it failed the only thing they gleaned form the experience was that “advertising doesn’t work.”

      This belief was held despite the fact that billions, possibly trillions is spent on it each year.

      James

  2. Man, that is good!

    He listens!

    He cares about what is important to you and your market!

    Does he let you talk to the the seller directly?

    Does he let you talk about land contracts, sub2, land trusts, seller carry note for equity?

    Does he create confidence in you as a real estate buyer who “says what he means” and “means what he says”?

    Great post!

    And email is no fun sometimes, the phone is terrific tool, and more effective.

    All the best to you,

    Brian

    • wildpen says:

      Thanks Brian,

      Ed does let me talk with the sellers directly. He gets it and trusts that I won’t go around him. Because he is open in this way, I was able to put together a deal where the seller carried back a first. Nothing really too fancy, But he knew enough to just get out of the way and let the chips fall where they may. In doing so, he received a commission, and probably did a lot less work.

      If you have been at this a while, you know that there are a lot of Real Estate Agents who get uncomfortable with anything other than a conventionally financed, or all cash offer. An agent who can understand what you are doing, or get out of the way if they don’t is worth their weight in gold.

      He also does a great job of positioning me in the mind of the seller as someone who can get the deal done. I think that is mainly because he has seen me do it, but it is hard to beat the credibility you carry when someone else speaks of you in this way.

      This brings up an important point. We really have to do everything we say we are going to do in Real Estate Investing. Don’t over promise, and don’t waste their time. Don’t try to pretend to be something you aren’t.

      If after all that you aren’t good enough for a Real Estate Agent to deal with you, cut them loose and find someone else who gets it.
      Or better yet start talking to sellers directly.

      I feel that it is hard enough to communicate to the seller through one or two a Real Estate Agents, why waste your time with the wrong one if you don’t have to?

      James

  3. […] The best thing I think a Real Estate agent can do is to be in constant contact with their Buy/sell list of clients. As a Real Estate Investor, a lot of Realtors put me on the auto-mailer that emails me when they have that the program …[Continue Reading] […]

  4. I couldn’t resist commenting. Perfectly written!

Leave a Reply

